Skyping the Trends

Trends in Adult Education: Implications Post #2

As a new instructor, I am constantly thriving to improve so that my students receive the best learning opportunities available.  The learning trends discussed with my blog partner have the potential to improve the educational environment I work in.  Game based learning may have many useful tools in my future teaching experiences.  Virtual reality and simulation mannequins could be two resources I may use to improve the education provided to my nursing students.  Providing game based learning using virtual reality would be an asset to the nursing students as they would be able to participate in relevant pressure packed situations without the consequences of real life mistakes.  Observing my students and the decision making made in a risk-free environment would assist me with meeting their learning needs.  As the students work repetitively at the game they can practice an actively learn how complete tasks correctly with my guidance and feedback.  To prepare for this type of learning I would need to be educated on the use of the simulation mannequin and any virtual reality components we would choose to implement.  Having a good grasp on how these systems work would give me the benefit of being able to offer a stimulating and relevant learning environment.

Providing massive open online learning would be beneficial for nursing students to complete prerequisite courses prior to entry to the practical nursing program.  This method of education is being discussed right now with our faculty to offer an anatomy and physiology course that is necessary to begin the program.  This online learning would give our program flexibility with our start dates as waiting for this course to be completed has been a roadblock when determining program initiation.   Also, it could provide students opportunities to upgrade or review courses that would benefit their learning within the program that may not be offered.  For example, the theory of intravenous catheter insertion is offered in the practical nursing program but learning the actual skill is additional education.  Offering this skill education as an open online learning opportunity would cement the students’ knowledge with a much-needed skill in the workplace.  To prepare for this trend I would need to understand how to access these educational opportunities for my students and gain knowledge on how to assess the students learning in a practical setting.

 

 

Author: adulted4lifeblog

My name is Ryan Broekhuizen and I am a husband, father, teacher, nurse and coach. I guess I can add student to this list as of today. I am 47 years old and live in small town Port Alberni on Vancouver Island. I was a paper maker in a mill for 15 years since the age of 19. I then was laid off and became a Practical Nurse and worked in West Coast General Hospital since my graduation from the nursing program. During this time I married my beautiful wife Jessie and had our amazing two daughters (now 15 and 12 years old). I have coached basketball in our local high school for 9 years and created a basketball association hosting basketball camps in our valley for our youth. During my nursing career I was always involved in educating other staff and developing programs such as the Provincial Violence Prevention Curriculum in our hospital. This lead me to becoming a Practical Nursing instructor at North Island College and started my PID education. I am an eager learner and always looking to educate myself to become the best version of myself that I can be.

Leave a Reply

