Skyping the Trends

Trends in Adult Education: “Aha Moment” Post #3

As I was reading the article provided by my blog partner about game based learning I had a true “aha moment” when I realized that health care was one of the primary users of game based learning.  This made me think about how the program I am teaching in is not taking advantage of this current and relevant trend.  I reviewed many articles about how game based learning is used in health care and have posted one of these on my blog site in the trends in adult education section.  In the article, I discovered that these games have been created for many different health care professionals including nurses.   Virtual pain manger was one game created that I thought would be beneficial to the students in the program I am teaching in.  The article my partner posted as well as this article discuss bridging the gap between theory and practice which I believe is a key in nursing education.  Moving forward as a nursing instructor I can picture many learning opportunities that will provide relevant practical education using game based learning.  It is my impression that the new generation of adult learners would be motivated in this stimulating learning activity would be beneficial to the overall learning goals of the practical nursing program.

Author: adulted4lifeblog

My name is Ryan Broekhuizen and I am a husband, father, teacher, nurse and coach. I guess I can add student to this list as of today. I am 47 years old and live in small town Port Alberni on Vancouver Island. I was a paper maker in a mill for 15 years since the age of 19. I then was laid off and became a Practical Nurse and worked in West Coast General Hospital since my graduation from the nursing program. During this time I married my beautiful wife Jessie and had our amazing two daughters (now 15 and 12 years old). I have coached basketball in our local high school for 9 years and created a basketball association hosting basketball camps in our valley for our youth. During my nursing career I was always involved in educating other staff and developing programs such as the Provincial Violence Prevention Curriculum in our hospital. This lead me to becoming a Practical Nursing instructor at North Island College and started my PID education. I am an eager learner and always looking to educate myself to become the best version of myself that I can be.

Leave a Reply

